TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

MEETING MINUTES

Of September 22, 2023

<u>Call to Order</u>: Alderman Walter Miller called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:41 a.m. at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
2. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	Claudia Ordaz	TX State Representative – 76th District
3. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, El Paso County
4. Lina Ortega	TX State Representative – 77 th District	Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport
5. Chris Canales	City of El Paso Representative – District 8	Anthony Turner	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
6. Mo Moabed	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County	Ricardo Samaniego (Chair)	Judge, El Paso County
7. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Isela Reyes	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX
8. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT EI Paso District	Eddie Morales	TX State Representative – 74th District
9. Ramon Cano	Mayor, Town of Clint	Oscar Leeser (Vice-Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso
10. Yvette Hernandez	City Engineer, COEP	Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative
11. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District	Rachel Quintana	Mayor, Village of Vinton
12. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Cassandra Hernandez	City of El Paso Representative – District 3
13. Cesar Blanco	TX State Senator	Willie Madrid	NM State Representative District 53
14. Cary Westin	City Manager, City of El Paso	Isabel Salcido	City of El Paso Representative - District 5
15. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM		
16. Aaron Chavarria	District Engineer, NMDOT	MPO STAFF	
17.		Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
18.		Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
19.		Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
20.		Gerardo Fierro	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
21.		Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
22.		Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary

(Meeting began with 16 members)

No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the August 18, 2023 TPB meeting. **Presenter: TPB Chair**

Motion to approve the minutes of the August 18, 2023, EPMPO TPB meeting made by Mayor Javier Perea and seconded by Representative Chris Canales. Motion passed unanimously.

- Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for the City of El Paso's application to the US Department of Transportation (USDOT) Fiscal Year 2023 Strengthening Mobility and Revolutionizing Transportation (SMART) grant program for the ELP Airport City Lab Innovation Zone Project Presenter: Omar Martinez
- Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for the City of El Paso's application to the USDOT FY 2023 Reconnecting Communities and Neighborhoods (RCN) grant program for the Reconnecting Communities at PDN and Stanton International Bridges Project Presenter: Omar Martinez
 - Lina Ortega commented
- Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for the City of El Paso's application to the USDOT FY 2023 RCN grant program for the *I-10 Deck Plaza Design Project* Presenter: Omar Martinez

Motion to approve items 2, 3, 4 made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Senator Cesar Blanco. Motion passed unanimously.

 Consider authorizing the Executive Director to execute Task Order #11 with a maximum funding amount of \$40,000, pursuant to the Interlocal Cooperation Agreement between El Paso MPO and UTEP. UTEP will provide assistance in Travel Demand Modeling, Air Quality Conformity and Public Involvement Activities and Other Activities included in the El Paso MPO's Unified Planning Work Program Presenter: Eduardo Calvo, Executive Director (MPO)

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to execute Task Order #11 with a maximum funding amount of \$40,000, pursuant to the Interlocal Cooperation Agreement between El Paso MPO and UTEP. UTEP will provide assistance in Travel Demand Modeling, Air Quality Conformity and Public Involvement Activities and Other Activities included in the El Paso MPO's Unified Planning Work Program made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Motion passed unanimously.

. REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- 6. TxDOT El Paso District Bicycle and Pedestrian Projects' Public Hearing Presenter: Adriana Rodriguez (TxDOT El Paso District)
- 7. MPO Administrative Amendments Report Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)
- 8. Quarterly Reports
 - a. September 2023 Project Completion Report (PCR)
 - b. September 2023 Project Readiness Report (PRR)

Presenter: Gerardo Fierro (MPO)

- 9. Executive Director's Report
 - a. Texas Transportation Commissioner Alex Meade visit to El Paso
 - b. Peer Review Trip to San Diego, CA
 - c. A Better Border for a Better America Conference

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

- The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>October 20, 2023</u>, at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901
- 10. Adjournment. Adjournment at 10:21 a.m.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area